top of page
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Kindled Souls

Code of Conduct

Updated: Nov 26, 2019

'Code of Conduct' by April White is a full-length romantic suspense novel, can be read as a standalone, and is book#1 in the Cipher Security series, Knitting in the City World, Penny Reid Universe.



📚Cassie's Review📚

April White is an exceptional writer! This book drew me in with it’s characters, and their banter. I love that the author brought in social and cultural issues that we see and deal with in everyday life, and it fits in perfectly within the Penny-verse. Smart romance is truly a thing, it makes you think, you learn new things, and that's why I love it. Can’t wait to read more by this author!! This is one of my top books of the year.


📚Ashley's Review📚

“You could never be normal. Extraordinary is not normal. Stunning is not normal. Brilliant is. Not. Normal.”

This book is one of my favorites of 2019. It checked all the boxes for me: Well-developed, smart characters with undeniable chemistry, an intriguing plot, real world social issues/current events. “Code of Conduct” was everything I hoped it would be.


I am a huge fan of Penny Reid’s Knitting in the City series, so the idea of other authors writing in her world for SmartyPants Romance was both thrilling and nerve-wracking. What if I didn’t like the new stories or characters? What if the established characters didn’t feel genuine? My fears were clearly unfounded. April White is a brilliant writer, and this book felt like coming home to visit old friends.

Shane is a fierce PI who usually catches cheaters. During a case, she accidentally crosses paths with Gabriel and a few others from Cypher Security, and they end up teaming up.

This story is longer than a lot of modern romance novels, but it’s got mystery, action, authentic characters dealing with their own vulnerabilities, issues, and pasts, and I couldn’t put down. Shane and Gabriel are people I want to know in real life.

Heads up, Code of Conduct did make me want to boycott the internet, but here I am, on the internet.


“Search engine is just the term people use to make artificial intelligence sound like it works for us,” -Alex Greene


📚Extra Tidbits📚


Favorite Side Character? Cassie - Dan the Security Man Ashley - Ooh, it’s a toss-up for me between Alex and Jorge


Have you read this author before? Cassie - No, but you bet I’ll be reading her backlog ASAP! Ashley - Same!


📚Blurb📚 ​ There are three things you need to know about Shane P.I. 1) P.I. is not her last name, it's her job title, 2) Her specialty is catching cheaters, and 3) She's a superhuman - kind of.


Gabriel is a security expert for Cipher Security, and a former UN Peacekeeper with a fierce protective streak that finds its focus on the beautiful P.I.


Their attraction is like an elephant in a room full of breakable things, and figuring out how to trust each other with their hearts, and maybe their lives, is the most fragile thing of all.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Kindled Souls logo.png

© 2019 Kindled Souls Book Blog. Created with Wix.com

bottom of page