top of page
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Kindled Souls

Prose Before Bros

Updated: Nov 11, 2019

'Prose Before Bros' by Cathy Yardley is a full-length contemporary romantic comedy, can be read as a standalone, and is book #3 in the Green Valley Library series, Green Valley World, Penny Reid Book Universe.



📚Blurb📚

Nothing about being a librarian prepared Thuy Nguyen for such a wide variety of casseroles. Or life in a small town. Or becoming a farmer.


But what can she do when her catastrophe-prone best friend begs her for help? After all, Maddy has always been there for Thuy. It’s time to return the favor.


It’s simple really, all she has to do is: learn everything about farming ASAP, save her BBF’s family business from disaster, and avoid being caught staring at Maddy’s biker brother, and his muscles, and his smile, and his soulful, sexy eyes.


Oh yeah, and she should definitely not fall in love with him.


Easy, right? . . . Right.


'Prose Before Bros' is a full-length contemporary romantic comedy, can be read as a standalone, and is book #3 in the Green Valley Library series, Green Valley World, Penny Reid Book Universe


📚 Cassie's Review 📚

This was an excellent addition to the Smartypants Romance world. Cathy Yardley brought her characters to life in Green Valley, and it feels like you are in a Penny Reid book. The writing in the book is excellent, and it flows remarkably. I could not put this book down, and stayed up way past my bedtime to read. Once I started, this book drew me in and played out like a movie in my head.


Thuy is a librarian (and has the degree to prove it), and Drill (Teddy) is the current enforcer for the Iron Wraiths. The trope for this book is harder to define, there is a semi enemies to lovers theme, but their attraction and chemistry soon changes everything.


The way that Drill wanted to read and discuss books with her and for her, just made me swoon. He was excited about reading, after 16 years of not reading anything. It just gave me all the feels, when he was becoming more and more invested in the book (like any true bookworm - staying up late/all night to read).


I especially loved how Thuy not only became the hero, but she also stood up for what she believed in and how it could help the community in regards to the library. It's worth a note that the representation of the previous Green Valley Library characters were spot on. The title itself couldn't be more fitting!


This series continues to cement the excellence of all the Smartypants Romance authors, and I can't wait to see where it goes next!


📚 Ashley's Review 📚

“You know,” he said, his voice tinged with amused surprise, “I don’t think I’m as passionate about anything as you are about books.”


Prose Before Bros was a great addition to the SmartyPants Romance world and the Green Valley Library Series. I loved the characters Cathy Yardley imagined. Thuy is strong and fierce. I want to be her friend. I love her devotion to her friendship with Maddy and the way she advocates for Green Valley’s youth. I was amazed by how much I grew to like Drill as well. I was pleasantly surprised that an author could redeem Drill, or any Iron Wraith for that matter.


Prose Before Bros felt more story-driven than relationship-driven. That seemed to slow my reading down just a bit, but it’s an excellent story. There’s history, love, action, suspense, turmoil in our least-favorite motorcycle club, and a surprising resolution to the story’s main conflict.


📚 Extra Tidbits 📚

Do you do research before starting something new? Cassie - Yes! Google is my best friend. Ashley - Yes. Sometimes I think I research too much (Too much thought, not enough action.)


Do you have any experience on a farm? Cassie - My grandparents lived on a farm (and thus it was always called 'The Farm'. They had cows when I was younger, and they used to raise sheep as well. Ashley - My dad was a career farmer before he retired, and my brother farms. I grew up in the country and have fond memories of it. We had random animals from time to time - goats, pigs, cows. Also, sweet corn season is still the best time of the year.


0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Kindled Souls logo.png

© 2019 Kindled Souls Book Blog. Created with Wix.com

bottom of page