top of page
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Kindled Souls

My Bare Lady

Updated: Nov 26, 2019

'My Bare Lady' by Piper Sheldon is a full-length contemporary romantic comedy, can be read as a standalone, and is book #1 in the Scorned Women's Society series, Green Valley World, Penny Reid Book Universe.





📚Cassie's Review📚

The first book of the Scorned Women Society, My Bare Lady knocked it out of the park! If you're familiar with Penny Reid's characters, one of Jethro's exes, Suzie, also known as Short Fuse Suze, is the most well known of the exes, and the one that set fire to Jethro's motorcycle.


As much as you go into this book wanting to not like Suzie, this book changes EVERYTHING. The author has a way of grabbing my emotions, I could feel Suzie's fear and helplessness. Suzie is a good person, who made questionable choices, but still you just want to root for.


Clifford's (Ford) unique background and his motivations for his research echo what most Penny Reid readers expect from a 'smart romance'. It's refreshing, makes you stop and think, makes me want to do additional research for my own curiosity.

One of my top favorite moments in the book, actually isn't a moment, it's when the character POV header switched from Clifford to Ford. That made my heart happy, and gave me all the feels.


This book will grab you, and make you hold on for the ending, with a few surprises sprinkled in. I could not put this book down, and I'm looking forward to the next book in the series. 5 Stars!


📚Ashley's Review📚

“Everybody should be treated with a minimal amount of respect and consideration. That’s a right, not a privilege.”


How can you not fall in love with Clifford Rutledge? Despite being all bottled up and a bit frustrating at times, he’s a well of goodness. He’s got such depth and a huge heart. Susie Samuels never stood a chance. And Susie! She’s fierce and brave and all good things. It’s impossible not to be captivated by her.


This book was everything I hoped for from the SmartyPants Romance initiative. The characters have depth that makes them feel real. The story blew me away with plot twists I didn’t see coming and real-world social issues.


I was excited to learn that this is the first in the Scorned Women’s Society. I can’t wait for the other stories Piper Sheldon has in store for us.


📚Extra Tidbits📚

Favorite Side Character? Cassie - The Scorned Women Ashley - Jack


Do you have a nickname that stuck? Cassie - Cassie, Cassamabob, Casserole, Cass (and if we want to get personal, my husband calls me Boo-boo.) Ashley - I have two: Cuddle Bug and Smashley

📚Blurb📚 Suzie Samuels is the only thing standing between Clifford and his life’s work. All he has to do is change everything about her. Perception creates reality and Clifford Rutledge needs the irascible stripper to prove it.


Suzie Samuels is set to prove once and for all she’s more than Short Fuse Suze, stripper for the Black Demons and renowned motorcycle arsonist. If all it takes is hard work, then Suzie knows how to work it hard.


But Suzie’s scandalous spirit tests Clifford's resolve. And Clifford’s buttoned-up bullying is driving Suzie bonkers.


Can Clifford move past their differences long enough to pull off the impossible task of changing the bare lady into a fair lady?


More importantly, as perceptions shift and priorities change, will he want to?

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Kindled Souls logo.png

© 2019 Kindled Souls Book Blog. Created with Wix.com

bottom of page