top of page
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Kindled Souls

Totally Folked

TOTALLY FOLKED by Penny Reid is a standalone, contemporary romantic comedy novel and book #1 in the Good Folk: Modern Folktales series.


Ashley's Review⠀⠀⠀⠀

5⭐️⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀

“I’m trying to be a better man. I want to be a better man, a serious man. Reliable. Consistent. Trustworthy.”


If you haven’t read this book and think you know Jackson James, you’re wrong. Sure, readers saw a lot of Jackson in the Winston Brothers series but always through someone else’s eyes. In “Totally Folked” we finally get inside of Jackson’s head.


Just a few years ago, I couldn’t envision Jackson as a swoon-worthy hero. However, readers were given little glimpses of his character in Hope Ellis’s Been There Done That and in Reid’s Solving For Pie mysteries. Now here we are, with Jackson James exposed as epic book boyfriend material.


And Rae! She’s such a fun new character and is just perfect for Jackson. She sees him. She values him. She’s awkward and relatable and lovely.


“Her touch gentle, her gaze imploring, she whispered, ‘This heart is stunning. It’s my absolutely, without a doubt, favorite part of you. And when you’re gone, when we’re not together, this is the part of you I will always miss most.’”


If you’ve not read a Penny Reid book before, this is a great one to start with. It’s got quirky characters, shenanigans a plenty, beautiful views, pie, and at its heart, a beautiful love story.

⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀ Cassie's Review

4.5⭐️ One of my favorites litmus tests of authors is if they are able to redeem characters from earlier in a series and make readers fall in love with them. Penny Reid has absolutely passed this test with flying colors.


I knew there was an inkling of how my feelings were going to change when Jackson James was written into Been There Done That by Hope Ellis. We really got to see a different side of Jackson.


“I suppose Raquel was an idea. A memory is made too much out of, remembered too often, relived until the edges had grown worn and soft and frayed.”


It was so rewarding to see him finally get his HEA. We really get to find out the reason that he is the way he is, and all his discipline to change the community’s expectations and their opinions of who he is.


Rae is just hilarious, she’s awkward and so relatable. But she absolutely so lonely, and has filled her life with people who are not out for her best interest. I love how Jackson wants a complete partnership with her, as equals.


Icing on the cake, checking in on all our favorite Green Valley characters and their families. *chef’s kiss*


Synopsis

One unforgettable night leads to an unlikely shared connection, and unlikely

connections never go unnoticed by the good folks in Green Valley, Tennessee. . .

Jackson James follows the rules. He has to. He’s a sheriff’s deputy in a super small

town with a super big personality. However, strict adherence to the law during the day

has been enjoyably balanced by rakish rules at night. Jackson, typically happy to

protect and serve (and serve, and serve), starts questioning the value of wayward

evenings when they begin to feel more like being waylaid rather than getting laid. Could

it be that Green Valley's most eligible—and notorious—bachelor longs for something (and someone) real?


Mega movie star Raquel Ezra follows only one rule: always leave them wanting more.

Strict adherence to this single rule has served her well. Studio execs, reporters,

audiences, fans, lovers—no one can get enough of the smart, savvy, and sexy

bombshell. But when “generous offers” begin to feel more like excessive demands,

years of always leaving has the elusive starlet longing for something (and perhaps

someone) lasting.


When Raquel abruptly returns to the quirky Tennessee hamlet, her path crosses with

the delectable deputy with whom she spent one unforgettable night. Unfortunately,

scandal and intrigue soon follow. Raquel and Jackson must decide which is more

important: following their rules? Or, at long last, finding something real.  

TOTALLY FOLKED is a standalone, contemporary romantic comedy novel and book #1 in the Good Folk: Modern Folktales series.


Fall in love today!


Amazon Paperback: https://amzn.to/36KBgo6

Barnes and Noble Paperback: https://bit.ly/2W0RNT0

Add Totally Folked to Goodreads: https://bit.ly/3tFSo8w


Excerpt

“Rae. It’s late.”

“I know, but—”

“Rae,” he ground out, using my hold on his hand to bring us back to a stop. I faced him,

my stomach erupting in uncertainty butterflies as I encountered the stern line of his jaw

and the glittering, frustrated spark behind his eyes. “We need everyone to believe we’re

just friends, right? And if we go inside the house, I don’t think I’m a good enough actor

to pull that off.”

My mouth formed an O, and I released him, folding my arms over my chest while I

wrestled with a strange combination of disappointment and pleasure at his words. I

wanted to spend time with him, talk to him, get to know this mystery of a man so I could

understand my feelings better.

But . . . I conceded his point.


We couldn’t seem to be around each other without kissing. Bringing him inside a dark,

empty house in the middle of the night was something better left to my fantasies.

For now.

Oh really, inner voice? Now you’re impudent? Now?

He exhaled a short breath, it also sounded frustrated, but his tone was soft as he said,

“Hey.”

I placed a tight smile on my face, it was the best I could manage. “Hey.”

Jackson seemed to be considering me, debating what to do next. He didn’t take too

long. “Do you want to go for a drive?”

“Yes,” I said immediately. “Yes, I do. Let me grab a jacket.”

“Okay. I’ll wait here.” He shifted his weight to his back foot and hooked his thumbs in his

jeans pockets.

I wanted to take a picture of him like this, all handsome reluctance and sexy self-control.

This man, he just did something to me. I couldn’t explain it.

But maybe if we took this drive and spent some time together talking—just talking—I’d

start to figure it out.


Meet Penny Reid

Penny Reid is the New York Times, Wall Street Journal and USA Today Best Selling

Author of the Winston Brothers, Knitting in the City, Rugby, and Hypothesis series. She

used to spend her days writing federal grant proposals as a biomedical researcher, but

now she just writes books. She’s also a full time mom to three diminutive adults, wife,

daughter, knitter, crocheter, sewer, general crafter, and thought ninja.


Connect with Penny

Twitter: @ReidRomance


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Kindled Souls logo.png

© 2019 Kindled Souls Book Blog. Created with Wix.com

bottom of page